Contenu de la page : Heritage

Toucy : a city in the countryside

Toucy history lovers can stroll in the streets of this old market town. Two guided-tours make you discover the remarkable church leaning against the city fortifications and the streets of the old town. The Saturday market attracts a large number of visitors. Visiting conditions and booking at the Tourist Office of Toucy. Tél : +33 (0)3 86 44 15 66.

Pierre Larousse is well-known for his most important work : The Great Universal Dictionary of the 19th century. He was born in Toucy, where his father was a wheelwright - blacksmith and his mother an innkeeper. He was an excellent pupil in the primary school in Toucy and became a teacher there. He was always striving to renew the educational methods of his time. In 1852 he created the "Larousse Bookshop" with Augustin Boyer. Guided-tour by the Pierre Larousse’s Association. Tour conditions : +33 (0)6 98 91 62 94.

Saint-Fargeau : a Medieval City

With a local guide you will discover the facade of the castle and some ancient buildings : The Saint-Férréol Church built around 1250 in ferruginous stone. Jeanne d’Arc is said to have meditated there on her way to Orléans. 2 old washing houses can still be seen : Bourgneuf (built at the end of the XIXth century on the Bourdon stream. On the stone bridge nearby, you can see a steam engine which supplied Saint-Fargeau with electricity. It was the first village in France which received electric lighting!! ). The wooden structure of the second washing house "Le vieux lavoir" was executed by "Les Compagnons du Devoir". Several old houses, some of them timbed can be notice in a walk around the streets of the old town. "The Ste Anne Chapel " in the cemetery can be included in the tour and its remarkable wall paintings are worth the visit. Booking in advance : +33 (0)3 86 33 05 93. The Belfry can also be visited. It is the only vestige of the first surrounding wall of Saint-Fargeau built in the XVth century. A winding staircase give access to 4 levels; special notice for the wooden framework and the clock. From the top you have a wonderful view on the castle and the roofs of Saint-Fargeau. Guided-tour in July and August and on reservation at the Tourist Office of Saint-Fargeau, 10 persons max. Phone number: +33 (0)3 86 74 10 07.

Castle of Saint Fargeau : One of the most egregious inmates of the castle is La Grande Mademoiselle a cousin of Louis the XIV’s. She had taken part in a plot against the king who exiled her to Saint-Fargeau. The visit includes the appartments, the attic with its impressive framework. On some july and august evenings, visits by candle lights are organized. Visitors can appreciate the beauty of the park (walking, in a stage coach (Malle-Poste) or in a horse drawn carriage). On summer week-end actors and horsemans react the history of the castle and the past com to life in a numbers of evicative scenes.


Château de Saint Fargeau°

At the beginning, Saint-Fargeau was a hunting place built and fortified in 980. From the 12 century to the 15th century, the owners of the castle were rich and powerful families (Jacques Coeur ‘s for instance). The castle was rebuilt in 1453 by its owner Antoine de Chabannes. In 1713, the Lepeletier family bought the castle but in 1752, a fire destroyed the castle and a large part of the city. In1979, Michel Guyot bought the castle and started its rehabilitation.

  • Michel GUYOT
  • Work00 33 (0)3 86 74 05 67
    • Place du Château
    • 89170 SAINT-FARGEAU
  • www.chateau-de-st-fa (...)
  • Read more
  • Terrace, garden
  • Chèques vacances
  • Details

    • Opening times: March 19th to November 11th, daily from 10 am to 12 pm and from 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm (in July and August, from 10 am to 12 pm and from 2:00 pm to 7:00 pm).

      Tickets Adult: 10 € School: 6 € Group: 8 €

The Seven Locks of Rogny : architectural jewel !

© Eric Devisscher The guide will take you to the village and to the Seven Locks Historical Monument. In the village, the church on the hill dates from the 18th century and offers a number of interesting exhibits. The Calveries is a worth seeing as well as the washing house. By booking for groups at the Tourist Office of Rogny-les-sept-Ecluses. Phone number : +33 (0)3 86 74 57 66.

The impressive Seven Locks were built in the 17th century (the idea dates back to 1597 : Henri IV and Sully). The name of the famous engeneer Hugues Cosnier is linked to the building of the Canal de Briare and the multiple locks witch anable the boats to climb the hill in one day only. They worked without interruption from 1642 to 1887. There were classified as Historical Monument in 1983.

Mural Paintings

The ground of Puisaye is rich in ochre : a wonderful natural pigment. Specifically it was used for the mural paintings witch light the walls of quite a few religious building in Puisaye.

  • The Saint-Baudel chapel in Pourrain
  • The Saint-Sébastien church in Parly
  • The Saint-Benoît church in Villiers-Saint-Benoit
    HTML - 8.5 kb
    Guide des Peintures Murales

  • The Sainte-Anne chapel in Saint-Fargeau
  • The St Fiacre church in Ronchères
  • The Saint Loup de Troyes church in Bléneau
  • The Saint Roch church in Louesme
  • The Notre Dame de l’Assomption church in Villeneuve-les-Genêts
  • The Saint Marien church in Mezilles

For more details download the leaflet.

Some sugestions for a stroll

We can also walk at leisure to discover the hidden heritage of our villages. Ask us for the free leaflet about Rogny les Sept Ecluses, Saint-Fargeau and Toucy. Equaly interesting :

  • Mezilles : the century old ford, the Ribaudin garden, the washing houses and the church.
  • Parly : Saint-Sébastien church, the sweetchesnut trail and the fishing pond.
  • Ronchères : The church and the washing house.
  • Tannerre-en-Puisaye : The church, the 19th century washing house on the Branlin. Nearby, the bridge could be raised according to the river level.


Balades Malicieuses°

All the year, organizing tours (St Fargeau Guedelon, Vezelay ...) and accompanied walks in the countryside and in the vineyards (Auxerre, Vézelay, Chablis). For walks, choice of many themes: presentation of wild flora and some of its uses from the Middle Ages to the present, plants of wine and terroir wines, cherries and cherry trees from some places of Yonne ...

To the top